Tuesday, July 27, 2004

God is not a Republican?

God Is Not A Republican
07/08/04
by Michael Janke

The Fourth of July holiday fell on a Sunday this year. Naturally, the service that I attended reflected a bit of that holiday spirit. The sanctuary was decorated in red, white and blue and a giant flag fell from the ceiling to the floor on the right side of the pulpit. It was all very celebratory. As the pastor began to speak, however, any nice thoughts about the birth of our country fell away to frustration and disillusionment. I walked out of that service feeling very strongly that I needed to say one thing.

God is not a Republican.

Before the majority of my reading audience immediately dismisses me, let me clarify something about myself. I am extremely conservative. I'm a registered Republican and on pretty much every issue out there I am going to fall on the conservative side. I am also a Christian. First and foremost that is the most defining part of my life.

However, contrary to popular belief, the Christian faith does not equal Republican politics. It never has. It never will. And anyone who says otherwise is just plain wrong.

It upsets me, therefore, when I hear preachers elevate their politics up to the level of the Gospel. It demeans the pulpit they stand behind. It demeans the Bible. It demeans the Christian faith. It demeans the church. It demeans what they say about God.

The sermon on the Fourth was so full of "RepubliChristian" nonsense that I honestly wanted to stand up and walk out. Since I am conservative it's not like I don't mind hearing talk about conservative ideals. But when a pastor stands behind the pulpit and spouts them off as if they were Gospel Truth and just as important - and identifying - as what the Bible actually talks about when it describes what being a Christian is, that is offensive to me.

How many conservatives roll their eyes when they hear Jesse Jackson referred to as a reverend? Jackson may well be a reverend, but he's so associated himself with liberal politics it is extremely hard for a conservative to disassociate anything he says from his politics. His pulpit has been used as a political platform so often that the two are no longer able to be distinguished from each other.

As I sat there I shuddered to think. What if there was someone with liberal political perspective in the room? What if that someone was searching and interested in learning more about God? This preacher was practically daring that someone to reject God and walk away. Because he was so busy equating Christianity with Republican values, he was gift-wrapping excuses for that someone to close their heart and mind. Why, in that setting, should a liberal person want to know more about God, if the preacher is telling them that to do so essentially also means that they have to change their political party affiliation? He has just put stumbling blocks in the way of seekers who come from a different background than him. He has re-enforced liberal stereotypes and gave the person a quick and easy way to reject Christianity.

Let's get this straight. Christianity is based on belief in Christ. God loved us all so much that He sent Jesus to die for us so that anyone who believes in Him doesn't have to perish but can have eternal life. Jesus, the only Son of God, died for our sins and on the third day rose again. We are saved by grace through faith in God, not by our works. God desires that we love him with all of our heart and soul and mind and strength, and that we love our neighbors as ourselves. That is Christianity. That is what the church is supposed to be about. That is the Gospel.

And that same Gospel is denigrated and minimized when preachers start equating their politics - whether they're conservative or liberal - with it. Tax cuts or tax hikes should never be talked about like they are determined by faith in God. Whether you vote or don't vote does not make you a Christian. Your stance on the war has no bearing on your relationship with God. A person on the left of the political spectrum will be just as welcomed into heaven as one on the right.

The message that day almost completely focused on the outward. Make America a "Christian nation" again. America needs to be more moral. America needs to do this; it needs to stop doing that. The emphasis was on outward action, with mention of inward change barely mentioned. And I have to ask, what is the point?

John Fischer, in his book, Fearless Faith, points out the overriding key to what I'm talking about here: when we're interacting with people who are not Christians, the key is not to make them act more like Christians, but to persuade them to consider Christ.

That's an important point, so read it again if you have to.

What good does it do to spend all of this time getting non-Christians to act more moral, be "better people" and be sympathetic to Christian lifestyles? Are we here simply to make the world a nice place to live? Making the world a nice place to live is not what is important, from an eternal perspective. Does an America (or whatever country you are from) that acts like a "Christian nation" in reality serve the Kingdom of God any better than a post-Christian America? No! Not if its people still do not know the Lord. Non-Christians who are moral and go to church a lot are no better off than non-Christians who are more blatant in their sinful nature. If there is no change on the inside, the outside moral and upright behavior is simply window dressing on a soul that is just as tarnished and in need of a Savior.

It might make we Christians feel better about ourselves and the world we're in to have the country feel more like the 50's again - all pro-family and Donna Reed-like. But 50's America was just as lost as the new millennium America - it simply hid it better. Victorian England was just as sinful and carnal as the England of today - sin is sin, whether you're lusting after a woman's uncovered ankle or a more private part of the body. Both people still need God just as much.

No. The goal of the church is not to have non-Christians act more "Christian." Our goal is to persuade them to consider, and ultimately accept, Christ. Enforcing outer change is pointless if they continue to live without Jesus as their Savior. That is why all of this talk about "turning America back to God" is really, well, just plain pointless, when if it is only in reference to laws, prayer in schools, and other such things. What matters is person-by-person relationships and individuals finding Jesus as their Savior.

It's not that Christians shouldn't be engaged in the political process. By all means, we should. It's our duty as citizens. But we cannot blindly believe that such things are actually where the real change takes place, or that politics and courts are where the real battle is to be fought and won. The first priority always has to remain spreading the true Gospel. A Gospel that is un-weighed by peripheral Republican, or Democrat, platform speeches.

God is not a Republican. God is not a Democrat. Faith in God does not equal conservatism or liberalism. Any preacher who tells you otherwise is out of line and needs to seriously stop and re-focus on what the message of the cross is actually about.


This guy has got some good points. Does the American Church valuve conservatism more than the Gospel? Do we place right-wing thinking on the same level with the Gospel? I know that this happend because I have expierenced this. And I believe that he has point, the church is so caught up with changing the outward morality of people rather than telling them the truth and allow God to change the inward morality. We have taken it upon ourselves to save non-believers by presenting the best arguements and providing solid logic. Apologetics has taken far too high a place in christian culture. We put more effort into convincing people that the Bible is true, than in loving them and sharing what God has given us as a tool. The inerrant truth of his word that cuts through the soul, seperating bones from the marrow. This is Micheal Janke's point.

Now on the other hand, I believe that a Bible based view of government and morality is conservative. Liberal views on abortion and homosexuality aren't just contra-Biblical, but anit-biblical. So I believe that if your faith in Christ truly affect you, your political view happen to fall on the conservative side. Just my tought


Peace all, Don't get shot

Chai Tea, A Killer Party, and DVD deals

This will probably be the shortest post yet. I really have nothing to complain about or inform you of. But this weekend was really awesome.

I rediscover Chai Tea this week at Starbucks. I forgot how good this stuff is. And what really makes it hit the spot is that I can get it free. Yeah oh Yeah. And what makes Chai even better is if you add just a bit of espresso...oh man its like a really really good tasting thing. (The phrase I want to use I can't for the sake of you, the reader. E-Mail me if you wanna know.) Yeah so anyways, if you like Pumpkin Pie and visit Starbucks, get yourself a Chai Tea Latte or Creme Frap. Yeah you'll like it.

Another cool thing is we had an awesome party at my place this weekend. Yeah on Sunday night, ny house was the place to be. It was truly a fun time, and I met some new people, and there was no booze. Just proves the point that booze isn't nessecary to have a good time. Although it does make some things more fun. But anyways we have a ton of leftover soda and I don't drink it, so it just sits there. Man I had a coke today and I realized that soda isn't that great. Coffee and Chai are soo much better.

I also just bought "The Whole Nine Yards," and "The Whole Ten Yards," on DVD. Yeah I got them for $20!!!! That's a great deal. Bestbuy.com if you wanna take advantage of this incredible deal. Those movies are serously some of the funniest movies I have ever seen. So if you haven't seen them, see them. THere is jsut one scene in "Nine" that you have to skip. But they are funny!!!!!


ANyways, I'm done talking now.

Oh and if you didn't know, this now posts to my new website. www.breadstickguy.com. Go visit!!!

Peace All, don't get shot.

Saturday, July 24, 2004

The Bourne Supremacy, Oversleeping, and a new hair style.

Why hello all,

By all I mean the two people who read this blog. But hey the reason I blog is not so that people will read it. Its just really something to do late at nite so I don't get into trouble buying stuff on eBay. But I enjoy it, and I know you do too. Anyways you are probably wondering what I have been thinking about recently.

Tonite I saw the Bourne Supremacy. I will see it again. Not only because it was a really cool movie that was very intense and kept me guessing alot, but because I have a free ticket to go see it. So I will definetly go see it again. In fact, I would pay to see it again. Unlike so many movies that are made these days, this one was worth paying for. I really think that Matt Damon is a phenomonal actor. I can't think of a movie that I have seen that Matt Damon is in, that I haven't really liked. Granted some of his films with Kevin Smith were raunchy, but they were funny. Speaking of Kevin Smith and good actors, Ben Affleck is not one of them. He did Kevin Smith movies with Damon and he was good in that, he also did Good Will Hunting, but wasn't that great, tolerable, not great. Otherwise his stuff is crap. DareDevil and PayCheck were decent, but everything else that Affleck is in just sucks. It just plain inhales rapidly. You know, oh and speaking of bad actors, Kevin Costner is the worst of the whole lot. I have never seen a movie that Kevin Costner was in that I even remotely liked. Now before you say, "But Costner is in girly movies and girls like him." NEWFLASH - I know this makes me less of a man to say this, but I like some chick flicks. I have grown up with all women, cept me Dad, but I was mostly raised by women. I have watched their movies, and developed a taste for some of them. But Kevin Costner is still the one of the worst actors to ever defile the earth with his presense. Possibly the worst. Now before you go and say, "He is created in the image of God too!" I know, and when God made Kevin Costner he said, "I am going to create this guy and he is going to be a terrible actor, but still manage to make millions of dollars and capture the hearts of stupid people everywhere. Nuf said. BTW you can find that quote from God in 1st Hessitations 6. Look it up, its there.


Ok enought about movies. SO today I was also supposed to go to this meeting about how to create the "Starbucks Expierence." Yeah, besides the coffee tasting and eating free pastries, it was basically a waste of time. I understand why they do it and it does have some value, but I was still kinda bored the whole time. Anyways the point here is that I was late. I was very late. Like a half hour. Now this may not seem like a big deal if the class if like a hundred people and it runs for 4 hours. But it was like 7 and the paper I got said anyone more than 10 mins late will have to reschedule. So I wake up at 11:45, I'm supposed to be there at 12:00. Not a big deal, I just have to drive 25 miles in 15 mins right? NOt a problem. Yeah right, so I'm freaking out thinking that I am gonna get in serious trouble because I didn't make it to the class. But God was gracious and gave me a nice instructor who delayed class because they were goffing around talking. Plus he put this one lady in the class, she works at my Starbucks, is the most anal person I have ever, and does not shut up. People say I talk alot, this lady could literally talk the ears of a stone statue. Anyways about her analness, so we are making coffee to brew at Starbucks. We have to measure out .37 pounds of coffee and put it into filters ready to go. That is no problem. I grab the bag, pour out the bag till it gets close to .37 on the scale and then slowly add until it gets there. When the bag is empty so I can't pour anymore out, I pitch it and grab a new one. Because that's what I was told to do. This lady, sits there and pinches out every last grind of coffee out of the bag. I mean by taking like 30 extra seconds to do this I have almost made another batch. And its not just that. SHE IS SO ANAL RETENTIVE ABOUT DETAILS! And I'm ok with that, I'm probably gonna marry someone like that. What bugs me about her, is that she doesn't stop talking while she's doing this. I mean its ok to not explain why you do everylittlethingyoudotome! Oh well, she is really a nice person and possibly a Christian, but man I am glad I am not gonna be working with her and a regular basis.

Man do I ramble, BTW I also am experimenting with a new "do" for me hair. Its kinda emo, kinda too short right now to do what I want, but I like it. I'm gonna try it for a few days and see what I kinda vibes I get. So if you notice a slightly emo hairstyle on me, let me know your comments.

Also, you can comment on my blogs if you like. Just click the comments thing right beneath the blog entry.(I think???)

What I'm Listening to:
A Favor house Atlantic - Coheed and Cambria - Cool pop-punk band with some crazy lyrics. There is a line in this song that says, "Good eye, Sniper. You shoot and I'll run!" Weird :-)

Renegades - Rage Against the Machine - Fun song D/L it if you can

Bulls on Parade - Rage Against the Machine - All I need to say it "Oh Purple RAIN!" Ask Josh Stamm.

End Transmission(Album) - Snapcase - Yeah Screamo bands!!!!!


Peace All, Don't Get Shot

Monday, July 19, 2004

My New Job, Emergent Churches, and stick shift

Yo ALL!! What up my homies? Not much here.

Well I finished my first shift as a Barista at Starbucks. Yes, you heard me right, I said Starbucks. "Mr. Coffee-Bean-Is-Better-Than-Starbucks" works at Starbucks. Now for those of you who thought I was anti-Starbucks, let me explain. I was never anit-Starbucks, I am just pro-Coffee Bean, which I still am. I just think that Coffee Bean's coffee is better in general. This is a comparison of house brew vs house brew. French press doesn't count. Starbucks has great coffee, I just think that there is better stuff out there.

Which Starbucks you ask? Ellsworth and Baseline. Its a super nice store and I have a really cool manager named Christy. Yeah I liked it. I filled out paperwork for like 2 hours and then made Frappucinnos and got a sugar high from drinking them. It should end up being a pretty cool job.

There is an interesting change going on at EVBC. Axis is moving to Friday nights. Yes, you heard me right, Axis on Friday nights. Why you may ask? Well our staff has been reading Erwin McManus recently and that is really why. McManus is the guy pretty much responsible for the Emergent church movement. If you aren't familiar with that let me summarize. In an attempt to become all things to all people the emergent church changes the way they "do church." They do it on a Friday or Saturday night and change the setting to a very "friendly" atmosphere. This in and of itself is not bad. What is bad is the tendency to become seeker sensitive in nature, catering to unbelievers by making the message weak and just focusing on making is non-threatening instead of the exposition of the work. This is really why Axis is changing. At least in my opinion. Am I worried about Axis becoming wishy-washy, no. But the concern still exists so I am going to meet with the staff and express it. This is kinda a controverstial topic in the church community right now so let the comments fly.

The real question is am I opposed to this move? The answer is no, providing the message is not tampered with. Also providing the staff steps up and utilizes the people in the ministy. If this goes down without some serious organization we will fall on our faces and reget ever being born. So there ya have it.

On an unrelated sidenote, I get to learn to drive stick today. So that will be fun.

Peace all, Don't get shot


Friday, July 16, 2004

I - Robot, Liberal thinking, and John Edwards

Welcome to my blog. I will use this site until I get a different on up. Please read on and enjoy.


So last night I'm bored out of my mind at home. I just spent the whole day looking for jobs around town. I must have turned in 50 applications. I swear if I have to write down my work history again I will shoot myself. I should just attach a resumé to all the apps so I don't have to. Well enough of that. Anyways so my buddy Casey calls me up and we decided to grab some food and catch a flick. Speaking of flicks I am going to re-open my movie review website. I will be posting new reviews as I see movies. Anyways we met up at the Stapley Bucks and moseyed on over to the "Mac Shack" as Casey so affectionatly calls it. I had some of the best Chicken Canneloni I have ever put in my mouth. It was wonderful. Anywho what was interesting about dinner was our convo. We discussed mostly politics. Now, Casey and I are both hard-core conservatives. Hannity and Limbaugh are probably our favorite political commentators. Our conversation drifted to the up and coming election. I have talked to a good many liberals and they all say the same thing. I don't care for John Kerry, but I HATE BUSH SO MUCH!!!!! Well I say to Mr. Liberal-Who-Hates-Bush-But-Doesn't-Like-Kerry-Either, VOTE FOR NADER!!! People will say that Nader stands no chance at winning, but I disagree. If everyone who belived in Nader's platform got out there and voted I think Nader would be fighting for the top spot. The problem with people who like Nader is they are all too busy saving whales and hugging trees to take 20mins on one day every four years to vote for the President of America. I say to you tree hugging liberal, "Nuke a gay whale for Jesus!" Anywho, I encourage all of you who don't like Kerry but hate Bush to vote for Nader, because a vote for Nader is still a vote against Bush.

So after dinner we headed over to the theater to see Anchorman, which is quite funny if you ask me, but on a whim decided to see the 12:01 showing of I-Robot instead. I have to say that I-Robot was a pleasant suprise. I went into the movie expecting a really crappy movie with crappy special effects and crappy acting. But I was wrong, good plot, great special effects, and the acting wasn't bad either. So read my review on it at MovieCenter and then go see it. So suddenly we had hours to kill so I called up my friend Tom Christie and the three of use chilled at Stapley bucks and In-n-Out until the movie. Good conversations. I enjoyed it alot. The thing that intrigued me most about I-Robot was the discourse about the will. How are decisions made? Could a Robot make good decisions? THis discourse brings me to my next subject, John Edwards.

I am reading a book by Edwards called Freedom of the Will, which is probably the most complicated book I have every read. I have been reading it for a few days, so far I think I'm on page 12. For those of you who do not know John Edwards, he was a puritan preacher around the time of the Great Awakening. He is argueably one of the greatest philisophical thinkers of all time. His work has convicted and encouraged sinners to a saving faith in Christ. I just learned of another person who just last night was driven to the cross by Edwards work. Anyways in his book Edwards takes then preface to apologize to everyone who is offended by the usage of the word Calvinist and Arminian. He states that he uses these words to save space in his lengthy disertation. The first actual section in the book in a definition of terms like, "the will" "desire" and "voltion." He defines exactly what he means by these words. I will not discuss his defs because you should read the book. Anyway the conclusion he reaches is the the will and desire are bound to each other. Therefore the will is most definetly not free. It is not bound to our nature, but to our desire, which is bound to our desire. The will chooses what ever it desires most. Therefore, sinners only choose sin etc. etc. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the book and keeping you all updated with my gleanings.