Friday, November 25, 2005

Man...What a crazy week!

Man...this week was nuts. To start it off...I worked for 14 hours on Monday. A long freakin' day dudes. SO that was stressful, then I had another long day at work on Tuesday night. Then...Wednesday at work as even more stressful. We had three people go home early because they were sick. Two of them actually were, one of them was just whiney...boofrickityhoo. So I had to run the DT all by myself for like a half hour. Which was a big pain, but I amazed myself in that I was able to perform all three tasks and still get things done in a reasonable time frame. Just FYI, DT is at least a two person job at my store. Its constantly busy with people needing coffee and even with two people, its a taxing job. Just imagine it with one. Yeah...like three peoples job all at once. Tiring is the word that comes to mind. Then...I went to see Walk the Line, which was quite good. Then I had a huge fight with my Mom and then i didn't sleep at all at night.

Then comes Thanksgiving...

I had to work 8 hours on no sleep during on the of the busiest days of the year. To top it off, three people were sick...again. Two legit, one whiner(same person). So everyone at work was stressed, I'm exhausted, and there's a million and a half people at our Starbucks. Let me jsut say...ITS THANKSGIVING!!!! DON'T YOU HAVE A TURKEY TO COOK OR SOMETHING!!! I MEAN FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!! DO YOU HAVE TO GET STARBUCKS FOR EVERY SINGLE MEMEBER OF YOUR EXTENDED FAMILY!!!! Man...anyways...I worked all day again today and actually got sleep last night some I'm ok...Now I jsut gotta find something to do tonight.


TTFN

Tuesday, November 22, 2005

Liberalism rears its ugly head!!

Well Ladies and Gentlmen,

The liberals have found a way to finally attack in a practical way rather than just ideaological. They are using the thing that they cry out against over and over, discrimination. I have experienced it personally and must say, it sucks. Because I am a heterosexual, white male living in the U.S. of A, I have become the target for attacks from the left. This is a message to all of you out there, there are liberals (especially homosexuals) who want your head, or other body parts, and do not want to exsist peacefully in the world. They are not the peace loving pacifists they claim to be. If left to there own homosexuals, and other like them, would rather erase you from existence rather than argue a logical point. They will oppress your values and beliefs for theirs. They are only interested in one thing, power. NOTA BENE: I'm not saying all liberals, or even all homosexuals are out to get you. But there are definetly some. And they will try and take your head.


On a more positive not, God is revolutionizing my life in areas of discipline. I'm reading in Romans about how sinful we are and just how much God gave us in salvation. Its fitting because of thanksgiving and all...I am so thankful for a God who loved my enough to choose me inspite of what I've done.

On another unrelated side note, i've discovered that my mother really likes preaching about nothing in particular for extended periods of time. Its actually quite amusing, but don't tell her I told you that. :-)

Now I'm going to take out my aggressions on pixelated terriorist by playing Counter-Strike. Oh Yeah!!!

Thursday, November 17, 2005

Doing my best to not look gay

I was having a conversation with a friend and the topic of "looking gay" came up. So I decided to write a list demonstrating all the things I'm doing not to look gay.


1. I spend little to no time doing my hair each morning.
2. I've never worn a form fitting t-shirt.
3. I don't wear pink shirts.
4. I've never worn a sweater.
5. Dockers are only for when I need to dress up a little.
6. I have never accesorized my clothing with my shoes.
7. I only have shoes I need.
8. I've never had a funny lisp.
9. I do not willlingly wear tight pants.
10. I've never even been inside J-Crew.
11. I don't have any rainbow anything.
12. I don't drink iced chai like its going out of style.
13. I'm a good 40 pounds overweight and I eat huge burgers when I could east salad.

and last but not least...

14. I don't share anything but a handshake with others guys.



Thanks everyone...if you think of other things let me know.



BTW I got a new monitor for my computer. 19" of viewing pleasure. Long live Counter-Strike.

Thursday, November 10, 2005

War is hell...or is it? Who knows...the weather man maybe?

Well, so much for blogging every day eh?


The best laid intentions of mice and men.

Anyways, I have seen a couple movies recently and just wanted to tell you about them. i can' recommend either of them because of content but at least one of them was good.

Jarhead, the new movie starring Jamie Fox and Jake Gyllenhal that is about the Gulf War back during the first Bush's presidency. i have to say all around, this movie sucked. To call it a war movie is to call Tommy Boy, intellectually stimulating. This movie was not even a propaganda fest. I was at least hoping for that. But nope, the bombardment of the military was quite minimal. So lets get to why the movie sucked. First off, you grow to hate the main character. By the end of the movie you will not care about him or anything that happened to him. His character reaches full development about halfway through the film, and from that point on, he is just stupid. Another reason this movie stunk, there was no story. I mean, the story wa about the characters, but the characters were cliched and stupid. I will admit, Jamie Fox did a great job with his part, and Gyllenhal's friend, known as Troy in the film, is also quite compelling. But in the end, you couldn't care less if they all got nerve gassed and died horribly painful deaths. Not to mention the incredibly harsh language and sexual content in the film. Yeah, all of that combined to make a terrible movie. On the other hand, the cinematography was great and the movie was a technical sucess. It just stunk. Instead of going to see that movie, give me $9 and I'll buy you dinner or something.

The Weather Man on the other hand, was excellent. Nick Cage plays a weather man who is caught in some kinda existential mid-life crisis. His kids are messed up, he screwed up his marriage, he feels no real passion for his job, his Dad is an incredible sucess, and to top it off, he gets hit with fast food items at random throughout the film. This movie was quirky, yet deep, yet ridiculous, yet passionate. The story focuses on Cage and how he is trying to get things reconciled between his job, family, and father. He's just a normal guy who wants to told hes good or valuable or to be comfirmed in som sort of way. The movie is basically a narrative from Cage's characters perspective. He tells his story to us, the viewers, hear his story. The downsides to this movie lie in the secondary characters. They are all in the movie fairly extensivly, but are left underdeveloped. Gore Verbinski(director, also directed Pirates of the Caribbean) gets away with this, because the movie is not about them. Its about The Weather Man. This overall depressing movie ends on a bitter sweet note and leaves you with a sense of accomplishment. On the low side, it contains lots of strong language including sexual dialogue and other sexual content. So yeah...can't recommend this one either.




Well as far as Hollywood goes, I would recommend Charlie and the Chocolate Factory for viewing. Its cheaper than the theater and better than whats out there right now. So yeah....

Wednesday, November 02, 2005

JJ's Blog v. 2.0!!!

I'm changing the idea behind my blog. I'm going to blgo more often about just what goes on. What I think about and stuff. I'm shooting for every day. I also want to include movie/music reviews in my blogs so you can know what I think, because you care!!!!


So to start it off, here's some songs lyrics. Tell me what you think!!



The song is called, "Listening To Freddie Mercury" by Emery

Every once in a while I think I'm lying.
Take it to the bank. I believe every word I say.
(This just isn't how, this just isn't how)
Then again this is when you start your prying.
(This just isn't how, this just isn't how)
But there's a thought it could be true.
But this just isn't how I imagined it would be.
With these random people just asking the most personal things.
And to think that somehow I could always come clean.
And you shake your head just like you know what I mean.

You're a Christian tell the sinner find repentance it's your last chance.
You believer, where's your patience?
Answer questions, put on faces.
What about God? For you and for me.

All have fallen short (To see if it's right or wrong to listen to this song.
I don't want you too. To see if you're okay with all the words I say.
It can't be this way)

Somehow, someone is more equal than others.
Depending on the words we choose to say.
A glance at her too long tonight.
But everything I am saying is right in your ears.

We are all the sisters and the brothers.
Until we find we don't believe the same, like...

Gary is getting drunk to forget Sarah.
Sarah is stealing money from her parents.
Aaron is lying straight to Jon.
About Megan and the things that went on.
Jessica is a gossip, Laura is a slut.
Derrick hits Bridget and Ben deals drugs.
Seth spends all his money gambling.
Joey stopped praying.

It's all the same.
We are all the same people.
With sinning hearts that make us equal.

Here is my hand, not words said desperately.
It is not our job to make anyone believe.


Have at it!!!