Tuesday, June 05, 2007

Male Makeup?

Heya Folks,

Heard an interesting conversation on the radio today while driving into work. Whilst listening to the morning show on a station the DJ brought up an interesting topic that particularly annoyed him. He was reading in Forbes magazine about, you guess it, male makeup.

Now, this isn't like makeup that people use on stage or for commercials or other things. This is genuine makeup, like girls wear. Base, brow gel, eye liners, and even a male mascara were mentioned in this article that were hitting stores now. According to this article, drug stores such as Walgreens or CVS will now have a special section for male makeup. Why? Because grooming is becoming a much less "touchy" issue with Men. Men are taking better care of themselves. We smell better, look better, and are better kept than we used to be. At least according to the woman who wrote this. Apparently part of the article also included an informal survey of women who have hiring power in the workplace. In an overwhelming majority said that they would be more likely to hire a man that used some makeup to look better.

Now my issue with that, is it doesn't go both ways. If a male hiring manager hired a woman who was prettier than the rest, there would be a lawsuit, but women can hire prettier men and its just fine. Just another example of how the "loud mouth left" is spreading their propoganda. Don't get me wrong, I like women. I hope to marry one someday, but "super rights" for anyone, whether guy/gal/black/white/gay is wrong.

The DJ, being a man, found this particularly appaling. The DJ then decided that they were going to think of ways to stop this. The ideas he came up with were rather focused on vandalism, things like, knock over all the displays, camp out in the section and beat up guys who buy the makeup, or picket the isles in the drug store. They then went on to talk about other ways they could protest this. Ideas flowed, with hilarious results. What they concluded is that they are only going to bathe outside, will not wear deodorant, and will fart, lots, in protest of this activity.

What I want to get to were some of the other things that the DJ said. Some of his thoughts on the reason for this new craze of male makeup. The first thing he said was, "Divorce is too easy." I don't agree with his conclusion, but I do agree with his statement. In America, Divorce is very easy. I was just talking with a guy on my team and he was bragging to me that his divorce was only costing him $600 and that it would be over in 3 weeks.

$600 and 3 weeks!!! To undue what "God has brought together" and that "no man should tear apart." Wow. That's all I have to say. Wow.

Here's a take on divorce from someone rather important. His name is God, Jehovah Jireh, the Alpha and Omega, Elohim, perhaps you've heard of him.

Malachi 2:15-16
15Did he not make them one, with a portion of the Spirit in their union? And what was the one God seeking? Godly offspring. So guard yourselves in your spirit, and let none of you be faithless to the wife of your youth. 16"For the man who hates and divorces, says the LORD, the God of Israel, covers his garment with violence, says the LORD of hosts. So guard yourselves in your spirit, and do not be faithless."

Matthew 19:3-9
3And Pharisees came up to him and tested him by asking, "Is it lawful to divorce one's wife for any cause?" 4He answered, "Have you not read that he who created them from the beginning made them male and female, 5and said, 'Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and they shall become one flesh'? 6So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate." 7They said to him, "Why then did Moses command one to give a certificate of divorce and to send her away?" 8He said to them, "Because of your hardness of heart Moses allowed you to divorce your wives, but from the beginning it was not so. 9And I say to you: whoever divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, and marries another, commits adultery."

Kinda strong words from the maker of the heavens and early. Sounds like a big deal. To me.

Anyways, I agree, divorce in America is way too easy. And this brings me to another thing that he said. Single moms are very proud of being single moms.

Now, I want to put a disclaimer on this next part. I respect single mom's who've either had a child out of wedlock or have been divorced who take responsibility for their kids and raise them the best they can. What I do have an issue with is the single mom that says things like, "I'm proud to be a single mom. I don't need a man to take care of my kid." That is what I have an issue with. You may not need a man to raise your kid, but your boy needs a male influence in his life. Boys need to be taught how to be men, and women cannot do this. Just as men cannot teach girls how to be women. Children need both and man and a woman raising them to turn out OK. Now, Obviously there are exceptions to the rule, but that's what they are, exceptions. The other issue, and I've had a little experience with this, with there only being a mom in the boy's life is that the kid is going to turn into what is modeled. No offense, but boys raised with no father tend to be more feminine than normal boys.

Ever wonder what drives boys to wear girls clothes or want to get their ears pierced or be "metro?" I wouldn't doubt its because the kid hasn't had a dad to teach the boy how to be a boy. He's only ever seen what girls do. He doesn't know what men do, except leave their kids and children(which isn't always the case). It goes the other way too, girls without mom's tend to be more masculine. All of this gender identity crisis feeds into the gay thing as well. As boy's become more and more feminine they start to struggle with their identity and are more likely to struggle with homosexuality.

All of this leads to the last thing the DJ said, men need to step up and be men.

I agree.

Women naturally want to take charge of things, its part of their curse of sin. Part of our curse of sin is laziness.

Women only step up to lead because men don't. Let's take a pledge as men to step and lead.

Anyways, kinda a long blog about male makeup.



Which I will never wear.