Tuesday, August 31, 2004

School started....do you see me jumping for joy?

The answer is no. I extremely dislike school, so much that some may say I hate school. But there is an upside to it. THIS IS MY LAST FRICKING YEAR!!!!! OH YEAH!!!!! STICK THAT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT UNDERCLASSMEN!!! YOU SIT THERE AND WHINE....BOOFRICKEDYHOO!!!! I AM ALMOST DONE! Now that I have that out of the way, I would like to thank Jesus, my Mom and the other guys in the band for making this possible for all these years. I also want to thank all the fans of this band and everyone we have met over the years....oh wait....I didn't win the MTV Music Video award? Crap. Now what am I going to do? I can't simply "delete" the text above, or can I?(mischevious grin)(yes I can't spell. You would think that 16 years of school would have cured that, but they haven't.) So anyways school started and I am looking forward to learning lots of useless crap about how stupid people think this world works. I am also looking forward to infiltrating my godless campus with the message of Jesus Christ. Hopefully you believers are too.

Ok...now for the serious discussion of the week. What does "Honor thy father and mother," actually mean. Now for all of you who think sarcasam is still a novelty, I know it means to 'honor thy father and mother,' I'm not an idiot, or am I? The world may never know. Anywoo, does this passage mean that we obey our parents in every cercumstance, unless they ask us to sin, or does it mean merely respecting them and given heed to their warnings. What does scripture say about this? Well there is alot of scripture about the parent/child relationship but lets just focus on a couple of specfic passages, Exodus 20:12 and Ephesians 6:1-3. Exodus 20:12 says, "Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be prolonged in the land which the Lord your God gives you." Ephesians 6:1-3 says "Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.) HONOR YOUR FATHER AND MOTHER (which is the first commandment with a promise), SO THAT IT MAY BE WELL WITH YOU, AND THAT YOU MAY LIVE LONG ON THE EARTH." These verses basically say the same thing. Honor your father and mother, but Eph. 6 gives us some insight as to what that looks like. It says that children should obey their parents. Now the real question is how does obeidience play into honoring. Because I can obey my mom by taking out the trash, while I'm cussing her out under my breath. I am obeying, but am I honoring? I would say no. So I think honor has more to do with the attitude in which we obey. So the question becomes, in which cases do I honor my parents. Obviously, not in ones where they ask you to sin, which I actually don't think happens. Honestly, when was the last time your parents told you sleep with someone outside of wedlock or to steal something?(Just to kname a few) I mean I could understand some of that if your parents are not believers, but if they are, this will never happen.

Here's a situation, you really like another Christian chick(or dude, depending on your giftedness) and you want to engage in a relationship with them that is "more than friends," and no, I don't mean friends and penpals. Here's the catch, your parents have met the person and they say to you, "This is not a good idea right now, in my opinion. But you are mature enough to make your own decisions and we support and love you either way." I this particular situation, what do you do? Do you "honor" your parents by not engaging in the relationship or can you have the relationship anyways. They didn't actually tell you not to, or even use an imperitive tense. So I don't see this as an obedience issue.

I want to hear your thoughts on this issue, and if your decision would change based on your gender.


And for those of you who noticed the blatant spelling errors, Yes I made them on purpose.


Until next time, don't get shot

JJ

No lives were lost, so I'll have to call this a victory.

Monday, August 16, 2004

New Jersey, 4 out of 168, and Creed?

Hello baseball fans!!!!

Welcome to the next exciting installment in my mostly boring and manical blog. Throughout this blog I have surreptitiously hidden special inside jokes and other connundrums for you to think uponst. So have fun!!!


Well, just saw the new idependent film, "Garden State." I have to say, artisticly this is probably one of the best films that I have seen in quite some time. This movie was well thought out and the story worked very well. The acting was also fantastic and the characters, however quirky they were, stood out as original and believable. I really enjoyed watching this movie. From a pure artistic sense it gets an "A." That being said, I cannot recommend the movie. Why you may ask? Well for starters, its rated "R." Now I am not an advocate of not watching "R" rated movies, some of my favorite movies are rated "R." What I am and advocate of is not recommending movies, e.g. giving approval to the general populace, to see a film with graphic sexual content, lots-o-drugs and "F-bombs." Also, this has to be one of the most depressing films I have seen ever. I would subtitle this movie, "An Adventure in Futilistic Fatalism, but Hey, That's Life." Not very appealing. I will give this movie one thing, it is totally consistent with the culture's worldview. This culture is post-modern and in my opinion the only logical conclusion you can reach within post-modernism is that life is only worth living for yourself. Also that you cannot break out of the box, you have to "play with the cards you've been delt." There is no hope for the future, there is only the here and now and me. You matter some, but only when I say so. Anywho, if you were planning on seeing it, and you are a mature audience then I won't stop you. But I won't advocate the movie either, even if I did like it a lot.


Now, some of you may be asking, "What does 4 out of 168 mean?" Well for those of you familiar with our time and dating system(the system by which we mark our days, not by which we go on "dates" whatever the heck those are anyways.), there are 168 hours in a week. I am speaking of 4 of them. My question, is something that you only do 4 hours a week even worth doing? That is 0.02381 of a week. Just over 2% of your week. Not since milk has 2% been ok with anybody. If you only put 2% of your effort into something most people would call that a waste. Why do I bring this up? Because 4 hours a week is all that is required of a person to belong to the group we call Axis. Now can we judge how worthy something is by the amount of time it takes to accomplish it? Yes and No. If something is only worth 2% of our week, is it worth the effort? By the numbers, no. Am I saying that Axis is totally devoid of anything useful? by no means, I have been edified by Tyler's teaching and by the fellowship many, many times. The question is why do 4-6 people show up on a friday nite to worship our Lord through prayer on a weekly basis, and 30 guys show up for a once a month meeting at 6AM one morning? Could it be that they show up because it costs something? Could it be that people are motivated to give their time to something that that is inconvient because for some crazy reason it will be better? I don't know, I'm just spitballing. But I have had some convos with people recently who ahve suggested that people are not willing to serve within Axis because its too easy to be a part of it. I think there might be some truth to that. In reality, I don't know, but comments are more than welcome.


On a lighter note, there is new band on the Alternative rock scene. Their name is Alter Bridge and they play rock music. The band consists of Mark Tremonti, Brian Marshall, Scott Phillips and Myles Kennedy. Now to most of you these names mean nothing. But to any child of late '90's grunge/alternative those first three names ring a bell. They happen to be the names of the guitarist, bassist, and drummer for the now departed band Creed. Myles Kennedy sings, if you haven't guessed yet. Well I bought their CD out of sheer curiousity and discovered some things. Its quite good actually, very unoriginal but good nontheless. If you are a fan of Creed, they sound just like them. If fact they are them, minus the egotisticly manical, megalomanic Scott Stapp, the former voice and front man for Creed. No the lyrics aren't "spiritual" but the music is good and I like it. So if you are a fan of post-grunge alternative or just living in denial and waiting for Creed's new album, "One Day Remains," is an album worth checking out.


Thanks to all for the times we've shared. No lives were lost, so we'll have to call it a victory.

Peace all, don't get shot.

Breadstickguy, master of the Sauce!!!! A turtlenecked warrior until further notice.

Oh BTW, if you have been reading my b/c of a link from "Casey's Place" super, but I have a site of my own as well. Which my blog just happens to post to. www.breadstickguy.com Give it a visit. There is totally awesome stuff there!!!!


Sunday, August 08, 2004

A Difference Between Men and Women

Here is something that I have observed, just one of the many differences between men and women.

Most Godly guys that I know, know their doctrine and spend the majority of their extra-biblical reading in books about doctrine or theological thought. We are amazed by people like Jonathan Edwards or RC Sproul. Knowledge is very important to the average Godly guy. On the other hand(and most of this is postulation so correct me if I'm wrong) the ladies tend to be more enthralled with just the scripture or a book on a more practical applicaiton of a principle. Example: The ladies seem to be able to read a verse like John 1:1 and just revel in the glory that God came incarnate to this planet. That he stepped down from his perfect, eternal glory and became a man for a time.

That being said, I'm open to suggestions.

Friday, August 06, 2004

Reprobation

This is more an attempt to facilitate a discussion about the topic rather than an actual blog. Post your comments on reprobation.

Reprobation being the just punishment of those not elect and having been given the imputed righteousness of Christ.

Tuesday, August 03, 2004

The Den of Iniquity, Early Mornings, and Good Movies

Turtlenecked Soldiers UNITE!!!!

Yo,

Yesterday Tom, Raheel and I are at the Den of Iniquity(DofI), aka Berean, and Tom and I were playing this really dumb game where we try to kick each other with our sandals by throwing them with our feets. This was quite an amuzing game and Tom was quite good at it. I on the other hand sucked bad. OK unrelated rabbit trail, the Chai Tea Latte I got from Starbucks today is really bad. Way too weak, I think the chick put too little chai in it, oh well, she's training. Ok back to the story, so Tom and I are basically throwing our sandals around in the store and I accidentally gave one of mine a little too much height. It flew like 7 feet in the air, over a rack of CDs and hit this lady right in the back of the head. OH MY GOSH IT WAS FRICKING HILARIOUS!!!!!! The lady was very calm, annoyed, but calm. I could bearly stop laughing long enough to apologize to her. She told me it was immature and I apologized profusly. Then we walked away and bust a gut! Oh man, it was funny!!!

So enough about my shoes, let me tell you one thing I hate. I hate early mornings. I had to open at Bux two days in a row last week, and it was truly no fun. Luckily, my manager said I probably won't be opening very often so I won't have to deal with it much. So that is cool. But opening was great too. I was done with work by 9am and had the rest of the day for me to screw around. So I slept until 2 or 3 pm wach day. It was super.

Speaking of things I hate, "The Village," and "The Manchurian Candidate," are not. I saw both of those movies on Friday and I liked both of them very much. I give the Manchurian Candidate an "A", and the Village a "B." The Village is a super cool movie, but there were some sucky things, that's why it gets a "B." Its probably the worst of the M. Night Shamalan movies, but those are some of the best movies ever made in my HUMBLE opinion. Anyways, go see both of them, they are good.

Well, Ta Ta For now,


Peace All, Don't get shot