Wednesday, June 29, 2005

My Name is Ted Prisby and You've Been at the Movies...

Ahh.... radio personalities are histerical.

Today at work I had a great time imitating one of my favorite radio personalities, Ted Prisby. Ted Prisby is a fictional character on a morning show on a popular Phoenix radio station. Every friday Ted brings us reviews of the newest releases at the box office. Only his reviews are off color and histerical. Example, when the movie Elf with Will Ferrel came out in theaters, he went on and on about how good looking and sexy the lead character in the film was. After Ted proceeds to make off color jokes about this celebrity and his ability to "get it on" with beautiful Culver City ladies and his cavalier attitude about life. After several minutes of tyrading about the looks of the leading man, one of the radio show hosts butts in and explains to Ted that the leading man in Elf was not Colin Ferrel, but Will Ferrel. After this revalation, there is more hilarity at the expense of Ted and his embarresment. Ted's review of Seabiscuit was especially hilarious, something to the effect of getting in trouble for leaving "sea biscuits" in the Pacific on their last vacation. Its bathroom humor, but its funny. And the best part is at the end of the review Ted gives the movie a rating based on movie candy relating to a 1-10 scale.
E.G. "On a scale of 1-10, 1 being red vines and 10 being Dots, the filet mignon of soft candy, I give this movie a 6. The numerical equivalent of Boston Baked Beans."

So they are quite histerical...but they are funnier when you listen to them rather than reading about them on my blog. They are also quite funny when I quote them in my best "Ted Prisby" voice.

Speaking of movies, here's a list of films that I've seen recently and some thoughts on them.

Bewitched - Actually quite funny. Not the funniest movie I've ever seen but worth seeing. After the box office flop that was "Kicking and Screaming" Will Ferrel needed a good movie to get him back on his feet. B-

Mr. and Mrs. Smith - Great film...go see it. Right now. No I mean it, stop reading and go see it. Its so funny. You're still reading...this is not going to see the movie, its reading my blog. GO NOW!!! A

Batman Begins - First to preface my comments, this is not a movie about Batman. Its a movie about "The Dark Knight" who shares the namesake of Batman. Batman and The Dark Knight are not the same person. One is a hero who wants to fight crime because he wants to protect the innocent and the other is the reluctant vigilante who fight crime because he feels obligated. This movie is about The Dark Knight.

That being said, I am predisposed to not liking the movie. There are several good things about the film. It holds very close to The Dark Knight's history and beginnings, the cinematography is really cool, and I think Christian Bale makes a good Batman character. Christopher Nolan's directing skill is really a credit to this film. Unfortunately there are some huge plot holes and an almost total lack of character devlopment. The Scarecrow is in the movie, but not enought to be the antagonist, and Raz Azul, Batman's ninja trainer, is painted as a villian, but his part in the movie is just too small for him to be really hated. So the movie resorts to an internal struggle for the protaganist/antagonist fight. Bruce Wayne's desire to "set things right" in Gotham is the protagonist and his desire to just disappear into the night unnoticed is the antagonist. Unfortunately, Christian Bale is not a good enough actor to be both Batman and Bruce Wayne much less have an internal conflict that is believable. You need a passionate actor to play those roles. Someone like Robert Deniro or Bruce Willis would have done a better acting job, but both of those people would be terrible Batman characters. So all in all...the movie is O.K. Maybe I need to see it again without my assumptions that its a Batman movie to truly appreciate it.
But for now I give it a C.

Star Wars : Episode III - The Revenge of the Sith.
A. Its Star Wars, I've seen it 5 times. Its great. Highly recommended.

Well that's it folks... I've Ted Prisby, I mean JJ Brenner, and you've been at the movies.

3 comments:

rustypth said...

Jayj,

Great post man. I've been wanting to do one about various movies myself (other than the few I have on ROTS). If I may respectfully disagree with your take on Batman Begins (which I now affectionally refer to as simply: "Batman") - The film was spectacular. This is undoubtedly the second greatest movie of the summer thus far (the first being, well, Revenge of the Sith, of course =)). Don't believe me? Just look at the numbers - 1st place: SW: ROTS; 2nd place: Batman. w00t. Christian Bale is one of my favorite actors so I knew he would do a fantastic job. I felt he has been the only actor who has filled both roles of Bruce Wayne and Batman. He was serious when need be, and had his comical moments. Oh, Bruce and Rachel sure did produce some good chemistry (who knew Katie Holmes could act!).

Now onto the Batman/Dark Knight distinction. I have consulted my Batman expert, Simon Escobedo, who has been a Batman addict of sorts for many many years. He collects Batman paraphenalia, and has read most if not all of the comics. He has told me many times while commenting on the movie (which is as verbose as my talking about SW) that the "Dark Knight" is one of Batman's titles. In fact, he says it is analogous to Superman's "the Son of Jerel" title. Both Batman and the Dark Knight are indeed the same character.

Now, with that said, please see Batman (after ROTS of course) and get yerself a Sith robe and a Batman cape.

I seriously think this is one of the best summers at the Box Office (in terms of the movies).

Thanks for post Jayj, and for spurring such a lengthy comment.

Blog tag, yer it, no double tagbacks, lol

JJ Brenner said...

Yeah I know. The Dark Knight is one of Batmans other names, but it wasn't always.

What I mean is that several years ago, a new Batman comic series came out. This was the series in which they re-wrote his history including things like his training with Raz and stuff. This movie follows that comic series. The Batman that the first 4 movies were based on a previous comic series. In those previous comics, Batman was the hero that I grew to love. Not the vigilante who struggled with his identity as Batman.

JJ Brenner said...

Like I said, I need to see the movie again. And I know that Batman Begins was based on Batman: Year One. Didn't I say that? I guess not...oh well...my bad.

Anyways...don't be appalled with yourself. You are a comic book junkie like I sorta am.

Oh well